Gratitude

begrateful

‘Gratitude means thankfulness, counting your blessings, noticing simple pleasures, and acknowledging everything that you receive. It means learning to live your life as if everything were a miracle, and being aware on a continuous basis of how much you’ve been given. Gratitude shifts your focus from what your life lacks to the abundance that is already present. In addition, behavioural and psychological research has shown the surprising life improvements that can stem from the practice of gratitude. Giving thanks makes people happier and more resilient, it strengthens relationships, it improves health, and it reduces stress.’ (http://www.thechangeblog.com/gratitude/)

What are you thankful for?

Do you say thank you daily?

One of my new tasks that makes me see the abundance in my life everyday is saying THANK YOU; I say thank you to people who provide great customer service; I say thank you to those around me who love and support me; I say thank you for the feeling of the sun on my skin, I say thank you for the laughter of my son.

I read a book about 6 months ago called ‘The road less travelled’ (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Road-Less-Travelled-Arrow-New-Age/dp/0099727404). One part of it in particular CHANGED my life and I would like to share that with you.

Photo on 2013-09-22 at 15.23 #2

I was reading this book whilst I was at the doctors one morning, after what had been a very difficult month relationship wise. Me and my partner were experiencing very high stress levels and this was causing arguments. We were getting married very soon, our son was starting to be mobile and all the changes from the previous few months were putting a pressure on our relationship we had not experienced before.

Sitting there, in the surgery, not wanting to talk to anyone; I buried my head and absorbed the words, looking for something to help raise the smiles in our house again… and then in one chapter it said ‘SAY THANK YOU’ (I don’t want to spoil this for anyone that reads this so I am not going to quote the book, I want you to experience what I did when reading it).

SAY THANK YOU!

So what nerve did that hit for me?

I realised I had spent months putting pressure on my hardworking husband to ‘help more’ and although that help may have been needed, what I was not doing was thanking him for what he HAD been helping me with. It was a lightbulb moment for our relationship.

When I left the doctors I called Dan straight away and said something along the lines of:

‘Hi babe, I hope your having a good day. I just wanted to ring you to say that I know I have been talking about needing more help lately but I have realised that I have not been appreciative of what you are doing for me and I just wanted to call and say THANK YOU’

It was a lovely phone call and on hanging up the phone I felt AMAZING, I felt grateful, I felt positive and I felt appreciative.

That one phone call CHANGED the course of the next few months leading up to our wedding.

blogcover.jpg

MOVING FORWARD

So moving on from that call I have looked more at the power of saying thank you. I have said it to family members, I have said it to cashiers, other drivers, random people that do something I can be grateful for…even myself.

WHY? Because it makes me realise just how much others do and how much a little appreciation goes along way; it helps build relationships and it makes people smile. It made me realise I had the power to work on some important relationships in my life by showing my gratitude.

GRATITUDE LIST

Sometimes I may not see anyone, or experience something to say THANK YOU for personally. So every day I make sure I know what I am grateful for and I thank the ‘universe’ for everything I have and will have.

I write a gratitude list every evening before bed, then in the morning I re-read my list and start my day with a HUGE feeling of positivity, abundance and love.

As i write this just before I head to bed I thought I would share this list with you this evening:

1 – I am grateful for my supportive family and friends

2 – I am grateful for my new relocation to Brighton

3 – I am grateful for my fantastic business partners

4 – I am grateful for my health

5 – I am grateful for the ease of technology to keep in touch with family

6 – I am grateful for my self development journey

7 – I am grateful for the sunshine today for a day out with Ollie and friends

8 – I am grateful for my successful online business

9 – I am grateful for the amazing customer service from Cafe Nero and Accessories

10 – I am grateful for Ollie’s laughter

11 – I am grateful for meeting new people who can enhance my business and life

12 – I am grateful for my determination

13 – I am grateful for my vision

14 – I am grateful for my husbands tenacious, hardworking personality

15 – I am grateful for LOVE

If I am grateful for something or someone I tell them, I have even texted people randomly when I have thought about how much they mean to me 🙂

What are you grateful for? I would love to hear what meant something to you today.

THANK YOU for being amazing and spending the time reading my ramblings. Goodnight.

signature

Let me know your thoughts

