The World of Opportunity – what I have done this week

So as you know I had a poorly son for about 5 days this week, so the world got a bit crazy and time flew by. However in that time I did leave and finish in full time employment, which was a very surreal feeling. I wasn’t able to say goodbye on my actual leaving day as I was home with my son, but I did pop in to clear my desk and say my farewells.

I did feel emotional for so many reason, but everyone could see that I was excited for the future even if I was sad to not be working with them anymore.

So you may be curious as to what I have done with my first few days of freedom, well I have been preparing for Christmas and spending time with Ollie.

Christmas Decorations

In the early hours of the morning, when we had a interesting evening with the two words Ollie and sleeping not being in the same sentence. I decided to look through my craft box and see what I could make for Christmas. I like to make crafts each year, last year I crocheted everyone a small gift (iphone socks, flowers and scarves). This year I decided to make some tree decorations. I decided to decoupage them as I really enjoyed using this technique for some of the wedding decorations.

ChristmasDecs

Method

These were very simple to make. I bought the hearts from a craft store from the decoupage section. The balls are polystyrene balls they I attached vintage string too. I then used PVA glue and decoupage papers to decorate them. I did them in two stages so I could hang them on the edge of box to dry. I later realised hanging them on the clothes horse was a better option. All 7 decorations took about an hour and a half to make with about an hour drying time.

Christmas Displays

I also spent some time while Dan went shopping to refine our front room decor as it was looking cluttered and not very festive. I created a family display for our first Christmas as The Jutsons’.

Decs

Plans for the Future

I have spent some time talking to my friends and family about what I want to do now. The aim of leaving full time employment was to have more time freedom with my son, however I have always had dreams and ideas of things I wanted to do and I am going to explore some of these (I will be posting about these very soon). The sky is the limit.

filepicker-gJqdbynQT92Fvs2Nufut_white_clouds

So it has been a busy week, we also had Ollie’s 12 month review, me and Dan had a date night at the cinema to see the Hobbit and I have been reading my self development books. I am very excited about Christmas and will be spending the next few days doing the finishing touches.

What have you got left to do?

signaturesm

One thought on “The World of Opportunity – what I have done this week

Let me know your thoughts

